Steak Salad with Fresh Mango, Gorgonzola and Toasted Almonds Tossed in a White Balsamic Vinaigrette

I just love it when a meal comes together last-minute.  Although I usually plan at least 3-4 meals at a time, on occasion life just gets in the way and meal planning strays to the sidelines.  When that happens, you will no doubt find me power walking through the market scouring for something fabulous and interesting to prepare for dinner.

This must be a family trait, as my sister often calls me while perusing her market in search of dinner inspiration.  And not so long ago, she called to tell me about this delicious and fresh salad she’d prepared on the fly.  Kristin also writes a blog and I thought it would be fun to post an excerpt from her blog written about the invention of this delicious salad.

From the blog www.shesfindinghappy.wordpress.com  and the post “Multi-tasking Mommy in High Heels”…..   

By the end of the day, I had received two phone calls from my daughter pleading from the other end of the line…”when will you be here, I’m so hungry”.  “Be there soon”, I promise, as I make a mad dash to the grocery to pick up a few things for dinner.  I power walk through the blurry aisles of food grabbing at things I think will be yummy.  A little gorgonzola, some fresh mango, organic romaine, a salmon fillet and a piece of chocolate that I desperately needed!  (I’ve learned how to power walk through Publix Grocery because I’ve spent so much time on the phone with my sister while standing in front of aisles and aisles of food trying to feel confident enough to pick out a few key ingredients to make a meal.)  I remembered I had one rib eye steak sitting in the meat drawer of the fridge so as I drive home I decide to make monster salads with everyone’s favorite toppings. 

And the fresh and delicious monster steak salads were born!  In typical Karista fashion, I did change a few things such as preparing a simple white balsamic vinaigrette, however, if you’re short on time, using everyone’s favorite dressing will work just fine.  And instead of using romaine, try using your favorite lettuce combinations.  I adore butter lettuce and Ranger Craig’s favorites are the fresh mixed greens with arugula and spinach. 

For the steak, I used a few sirloin steaks from my organic beef stash and a New York Strip for Ranger Craig.  The salads were a hit with the entire family!  Simple, fresh and delicious, and happy faces!  That’s what dinner’s all about.  Happy Cooking!

Ingredients

4 small steaks, sirloin, rib eye, tenderloin, flank (if using flank, marinade in Italian dressing the night before)

2 mangos, diced into bite size pieces

1 cup Gorgonzola cheese (or a French Bleu is lovely)

1/2 cup slivered or chopped almonds, toasted

1 lb fresh greens or lettuce of your choice (enough for 4 people)

1/4 cup white balsamic vinegar

1 tablespoon sugar

3/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

1 tablespoon chopped fresh Italian parsley

Squeeze of fresh lemon (optional)

Sea salt and fresh cracked black pepper to taste

Directions

Sprinkle steaks with salt and pepper and pan sear or grill.  Let them rest for a few minutes before slicing.  While the steaks are resting assemble the salad.

Whisk together the vinegar, sugar, parsley, squeeze of lemon and olive oil.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Toss the lettuce or greens with some of the dressing, enough to coat the salad but not drown it. 

Place lettuce or greens in the bottom of 4 large bowls or plates.  Slice steaks thinly and lay them on the salads.  Next, sprinkle diced mango over  each salad and then top with gorgonzola and toasted pecans.  If needed, drizzle a little additional vinaigrette over the top of each salad. 

Serve immediately with warm, crusty french bread.  Yum!

OPTIONS:  Serve this delicious salad with grilled fresh salmon.  Just drizzle a little lemon and olive oil over the salmon and season with salt and pepper.  Grill, bake or pan sear to desired doneness and then place on top of the salad.  Layer with the mango, gorgonzola and toasted pecans.

I'd love to hear from you!

