Grilled German Bratswurst

Years ago Ranger Craig and I had a college friend who came to visit from time to time.  He was originally from Wisconsin and every time he stayed with us he would grill his famous bratwurst.

I was never a huge brats fan until these luscious brats touched my lips.  I was hooked.  Immediately.

I’ve met several people from the great state of Wisconsin and this method for preparing brats seems to be tradition.  No more throwing it on the grill plain Jane.  It’s got to be slow simmered with onions and garlic and a few pints of beer.  Add some macaroni salad or potato salad, fresh fruit and maybe some chocolate cake with Mexican Chocolate Sauce and a good old-fashioned American barbecue is born.

Wishing everyone a delicious, happy and safe Memorial Day!

Best Ever Brats Recipe

Ingredients

6-8 your favorite brand of Brats (My new favorite is Uli’s German Bratwurst)

1 large onion, halved and sliced

10 cloves garlic, crushed

Veggie oil

36 oz dark beer (or Heineken)

Buns for the Brats

Sauerkraut

Pickle relish

Mustard (Dijon or yellow)

Directions

In a large skillet, heat a few tablespoons of oil on medium high heat.  Add the sliced onions and sauté for about 5-8 minutes or until the onions are translucent.  Next, add the garlic and sauté for a minute longer.

Add the beer and let it come to a slow boil.  Once the beer and onion mixture have reached a slow boil, add the brats.  Turn the heat down to simmer, and let the brats cook for about 8-10 minutes, or until the brats are mostly cooked through.

While the brats are simmering in the beer, preheat your grill.  When the brats are ready, grill on medium heat until nicely browned.

Place the grilled brats back into the beer and onion mixture and let them soak on slow, simmering heat for another few minutes.  Serve the brats on a platter with some of the sautéed onions and garlic.  Serve with sauerkraut, pickle relish, deli mustard, and large sturdy stadium buns.

*If I have time, I reduce the onion garlic liquid in the pan and caramelize the onions a bit.  But be careful not to brown the garlic.

Comments

  1. Great website! I love all your recipes. I definitely will be back!

  2. Ooooh, I’d never heard of brats prepared this way before, but this sounds awesome! I’ll definitely give these a try some time this summer!

    • Hi Valerie, Thanks so much for stopping by! This is a yummy brats recipe and one of my family’s summer favorites. I know you’ll enjoy it, let me know what you think. Stopped by your blog and I love the name and content! I wish you all the best and I’ll be stopping by again soon. Happy Cooking!

  3. I plan to smoke some brats today, already fired up the smoker. But I can’t wait to try this recipe. Beer does such wonderful things to meat. I like how it calls for dark beer or a heine.

  4. this is the perfect memorial day meal! plus i needed a macaroni salad recipe… you must have been reading my mind. thanks for sharing 🙂

    • 🙂 Marni, you are so welcome!! We love our Brats in the Bennett house, and of course one can never have too much Macaroni Salad. Enjoy!

I'd love to hear from you!

