Pan Seared Cube Steak with Beef Broth Cream Gravy

I have a freezer full of cube steak.  What do I do with cube steak?  I fry it!  And then I top it with a thick and rich cream gravy.   Actually, that’s what I like to do with my cube steak. 

But sometimes I use cube steak with my Bistecca all Pizziola recipe, and then sometimes when I don’t feel like messing around with all the egg and the flour, and frankly I don’t really need all those calories, I like to simply season the cube steak with salt and pepper and then lightly dust with flour.  Pan sear in some butter and oil and then make a lighter version of my cream gravy.

This is how my Mom used to make cube steak.  I remember those evenings when I would see her pan sear the steaks, top them with her beef broth gravy and then serve it with her famous mashed potatoes.  I didn’t think life could get any better than that. 

This is definitely one of my family’s favorite meals.  With all the beautiful, healthy and delicious recipes I prepare every day, my family loves this one.  And I have to admit, while trying to take a decent picture of my pan seared cube steak, I kept taking little bites… you know, to get the perfect picture. 

Until finally, my plate was empty.  🙂

Serves 4

Ingredients

4 beef cube steaks (you can also have you butcher make you chicken cube steaks from chicken breasts)

Salt and fresh cracked black pepper

All-purpose flour for dusting the cube steaks

2 tablespoons butter

2 tablespoons oil

Beef Broth Gravy

2 tablespoons butter

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1 cup whole milk

1 cup beef broth

Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Season the cube steaks with salt and pepper on both sides.  Then dust lightly with flour on both sides.

Heat a frying pan on medium high heat with the butter and oil. 

When the butter oil mixture is hot and frothy add the cube steaks and pan sear until golden brown on both sides.  The center should just be a little pink.

Transfer the steaks to a platter. 

In the same pan over medium heat, add the extra butter and let it melt in the pan.  Sprinkle in the flour and whisk the butter and flour for a minute or two until incorporated. 

Next add the milk to the pan and continue to whisk until the gravy is smooth.  It will be thick. 

Add the beef broth and continue to whisk until the gravy is again smooth.  Let the gravy continue to simmer until it’s thickened to your liking. 

If it’s too thick, add additional beef broth.  If it’s too thin continue to cook until it thickens.

Season with salt and pepper if needed.  Just for fun, I sometimes add in a teaspoon or two of fresh chopped Italian parsley or oregano.

To serve:  Plate each cube steak and top with a little pan gravy.   I love this served with slaws and salads, and of course, mashed potatoes.

Comments

  1. wow…now I know what will prepare today’s dinner, love it, looks creamy and delicious.

  2. Ahhh… A true man meal my husband can wrap his arms around! (Or I should say his teeth!) We will be making this one SOON!

I'd love to hear from you!

