Grilled Salmon Tacos with Chipotle Lime Crema and Fresh Cilantro Slaw… and a visit to Port Townsend Farmer’s Market!

It’s amazing how far I will travel for a good taco.  Not just any taco, a Pacific Northwest Alaskan salmon taco!  I think it’s safe to say the Bennett Crew are crazy about tacos.

Flying to Port Townsend

Imagine my surprise stumbling onto these heavenly tacos at the Port Townsend Farmer’s Market; our latest stop in the farmer’s market summer tour.

Yep, after begging and pleading (I’m gifted at exaggeration), Ranger Craig finally agreed to fly me over to another one of my favorite Northwest destinations, Port Townsend, Washington.

I'm supposed to be the co-pilot. Instead I'm snapping pictures.

In case you didn’t know… Ranger Craig LOVES to fly.  All he needs is a good excuse.  I can come up with plenty :).

Spruce Goose Cafe, Jefferson County Airport

We usually breakfast or lunch at the Spruce Goose Cafe when we fly into Port Townsend.  But I was on a mission.  No stopping for food now.  The farmer’s market was calling me and I was too excited to eat.  Ok, that doesn’t happen too often.

It’s a little bit of a hike into town so we nixed the idea of bringing the bikes. Well… I nixed the idea.  After all, I needed to save all that energy for my farmer’s market power shopping.  So a quick cab ride into town was the transportation of choice.

My heart was set on beautiful produce, heirloom pork, grass-fed beef, Mt. Townsend Creamery cheese and lavender.  I wasn’t disappointed.  Beautiful rich colors graced the market tables, the scent of lovely ocean breezes passing by, and cheerful voices were heard, happily browsing the beauty of the market. Ah… a little piece of heaven.

Obviously, I'm not a seasoned photographer. In my defense Mr. Legs wanted to be in picture.

Mmmm.... Northwest Barbecue!

After roaming the market for an hour, Ranger Craig and I decided we’d stop for lunch.  The perfect spot?  In Season Catering taco booth.  My mouth was watering just looking at the menu.  It had to be the salmon tacos.  The chipotle crema drew me in like a bug to a light.

Grilled Salmon Tacos with Chipotle Crema

Ranger Craig and I ate in silence.  The fish so fresh, the crema smoky and spicy and the cabbage tangy and crunchy.  The loveliest lunch for the loveliest day.   I’d absolutely have to re-create these tacos when I got home!

Port Townsend Marina

After filling up on the most incredible cheese, tacos and a fresh lime cheesecake with coconut crust (notice the word cheese makes several appearances), Ranger Craig and I thought a brisk walk to the marina and downtown was a must.  Mostly because we really needed to walk off all that “cheese”.  And… the wooden boat museum and pygmy kayaking center is also downtown.  Isn’t that handy.

Solid wood kayaks... fun!

My favorite coffee house in Port Townsend

Port Townsend never disappoints.  It’s unique Victorian architecture is stunning against the ocean backdrop.  Beautiful old buildings, exquisite artisans, divine seafood and a lively atmosphere only Port Townsend can create.  I’m enamored with this little town, smitten most likely.

Grilled Salmon Tacos with Chipotle Lime Crema and Fresh Cilantro Slaw

Recipe adapated from In Season Catering, Port Townsend, Washington

Serves 4

Ingredients

1 – 1 1/2 lbs fresh salmon

Olive oil

1 tablespoon Emeril’s Essence (if you can’t find it at your local market, I’ve listed the recipe below)

1 chipotle pepper (in adobo sauce), finely chopped

1 cup creme fraiche or sour cream

zest of 1 lime

2 tablespoons fresh lime juice

Salt and fresh cracked black pepper

2 cups shredded fresh cabbage

1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Your favorite salsa or pico de gallo (for a fabulous salsa recipe try Tio’s Salsa)

8 – 10 corn tortillas, steamed

Fresh sliced Avocado (optional)

Directions

Heat the grill to 400F.  Brush the grill racks with oil.

Rub the salmon with a veggie oil and then sprinkle liberally with the Emerils Seasoning.

When the grill is hot, place the salmon flesh side down on the grill.  Let the salmon sear and cook for about 4 minutes, and then carefully flip the fish with a wide spatula and grill another 4 minutes, or a little longer for salmon that is cooked through.

Transfer the cooked salmon to a platter to cool.

While the salmon is cooling, whisk together the finely diced chipotle chile, creme fraiche, lime zest and lime juice.  Season to taste with salt and fresh cracked black pepper.

Toss the shredded cabbage with the cilantro.

Flake the grilled salmon, removing any bones.  Fill the steamed tortillas with the grilled salmon, top with chipotle lime crema, your favorite salsa or pico de gallo, and the shredded cabbage with cilantro.  Serve with lime wedges and fresh avocado slices.  Enjoy!

Emeril’s Essence Seasoning

  • 2 1/2 tablespoons paprika
  • 2 tablespoons salt
  • 2 tablespoons garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon onion powder
  • 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • 1 tablespoon dried thyme

Combine ingredients thoroughly and keep in a lidded glass jar.  Excellent on chicken, pork, shrimp and beef.

Comments

  1. Holy yum. That looks amazing. I’m not sure what’s more impressive, the recipe or the photography. Beautiful!

  2. I love fish tacos. This sounds so good especially with the chipotle Creme.

  3. Those look delicious Karista! Your photos are gorgeous too. There is no place prettier than Port Townsend in the summer.

  4. I love salmon tacos and yours sound extra yummy. Funny, I just wrote a post yesterday about salmon tacos, but a totally different preparation. I’ll try yours if your try mine!

  5. Thanks Heidi! Salmon is so yum by itself but in these tacos they are super yum! 🙂

  6. This looks delicious! Tomorrow, a trip to Gemini Fish Market. Tomorrow night, salmon tacos!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Grilled Salmon Tacos with Chipotle Lime Crema. […]

I'd love to hear from you!

