Tomato, Green Olive and Fresh Herb Salsa with Pan Seared Scallops

Tomato, Green Olive and Fresh Herb Salsa

It’s been a busy summer.  And we’re not done yet!  Although school starts soon (doin’ a happy dance right now) it still feels like summer in these parts and I’ve got a few more summer recipes to post.  Here in the Northwest, we hang on to summer as long as we can. 

Pan Seared Scallops over Tomato, Green Olive and Fresh Herb Salsa

For me summer is all about gardens, farms, farmer’s markets, pea patches, and anything that’ll give me fresh ingredients to create a great meal.  But alas (big sigh), I do not have a green thumb.  I hear you all gasping for air.  I wish I had a green thumb.  My peppers pooped out, my lettuce greens and strawberries were eaten by the bunnies and I think I probably planted my squash in the wrong location. 

Pineapple Mint

But I can grow a bumper crop of herbs.  That’s my specialty.  Yesiree I grow the prettiest mint, the prettiest oregano and the prettiest thyme, rosemary, chives and parsley.  I’m so proud of my herb garden.  It’s beautiful and I feel like Farmer Karista when I look out my window at my beautiful box of herbs. 

The lettuce thief!

To celebrate my bumper crop of herbs I created this tasty little salsa.   Sweet, tangy and full of fresh herbs and capers, the salsa made a beautiful and delicious plate for my pan seared scallops.   I love it when enticing and mouth-watering flavors come together to make a surprisingly decadent dish.  Ah… it’s summertime and the livin’ is easy. 

Cherry Tomato, Green Olive and Fresh Herb Salsa with Pan Seared Scallops

Serves 4

Ingredients

2 cups cherry tomatoes, halved or quarterd

1 cup green olives, coarsely chopped

1/4 cup capers, rinsed and coarsely chopped

1/4 cup chopped fresh Oregano and Italian parsley

Drizzle of Olive oil (this is the perfect time to pull out the good stuff!)

Squeeze of lemon

Sea salt and Fresh ground black pepper

Directions

Gently toss together the tomatoes, olives, fresh herbs, capers, squeeze of lemon and drizzle of olive oil.  Season to taste with salt and fresh ground black pepper.

Serve with pan seared scallops, grilled halibut or chicken.  Yum!

Comments

  1. You are so welcome Karen! Two of my personal summer favorites… scallops and tomatoes!

  2. Seeing how I have an over abundance of tomatoes right now and I love scallops, I think this will be my next dinner. Thank you for sharing.

I'd love to hear from you!

