Cherry Tomato, Cucumber and Spring Onion Salad… and a trip to San Juan Island Farmer’s Market!

Cherry Tomato, Cucumber and Leek Salad

The summer is coming to an end, school is in session and I’m feeling a slight chill in the morning air.  Ahhh… I’m loving this time of year.

I did manage to freeze a fair amount of my farmer’s market finds, but if I’d really been on top of things I would’ve canned some produce as well.  I’d like to think I’m super woman.  It looks like I’ve fallen short this year.  Bummer.

Our sweet little airfield

The drizzly weather will be here soon so Ranger Craig and I decided we’d fly to one last farmer’s market.  Friday Harbor on San Juan Island.  Wow.  I’ve been there a hundred times and every time I’m in awe.  A beautiful spot in the world.

Landing on San Juan Island

Thankfully, it’s always an easy landing on San Juan, nice and smooth and lots of room.  Just the way I like it!

Beautiful San Juan Island Produce

A Farmer’s Market With A View

The farmer’s market did not disappoint.  Although, I was scolded by a very pleasant-looking lady for having my little guy Tank with me at the market.  I guess dogs aren’t allowed.  I didn’t get the memo. 😦

The most deliciously sweet cherry tomatoes!

While Ranger Craig and Tank walked around town, my little gal and I walked around the market gathering loads of fabulous food (and other good stuff!).  Grass fed beef, organic fruits and veggies, beautiful baskets of baked goods, and the loveliest quilts and crafts.  And did I mention the jam?  Lots of jam.

I fell in love with this quilt!

Ok, so I had to exit the farmer’s market at some point or I’d never be able to carry my loot back to the plane.

Ranger Craig and Tank cruising the town.

No, this is not our cab.  Although Ranger Craig thought it was pretty cool.  Tank was more worried about lunch.  Me too.

Lunch!

We found lunch. Grilled oysters, fish and chips and of course clam chowder.  I now needed a nap.

We took a stroll down to the marina, you know, to walk off lunch.  I think Ranger Craig just wanted to check out all the sailboats.  And score!  We saw a sea plane take off in the bay.

Grilled Grass Fed Rib Eye Steak and Cherry Tomato, Cucumber and Spring Onion Salad

Home we flew. Dinner was delicious!

Cherry Tomato, Cucumber and Spring Onion Salad with a White Balsamic and Olive Oil Drizzle

Serves 4

Ingredients

1 pint sweet cherry tomatoes, halved1 cucumber, diced into bite sized pieces

1-2 spring onions, diced (substitute with scallions if you can’t find spring onions)

Fresh chopped Italian parsley to taste (I like 2-3 tablespoons)

Drizzle of white balsamic vinegar (pull out your good stuff for this salad)

Drizzle of extra virgin olive oil (pull out your good stuff for this salad)

Salt and fresh cracked black pepper to taste

Directions

Gently toss together the tomatoes, cucumbers, spring onions and parsley.  Drizzle with the vinegar and oil and then season with salt and pepper to taste.  Serve with grilled meats or chicken.  Or enjoy all by itself!

I'd love to hear from you!

