Garam Masala Crusted Fish with Cucumber Mango Raita and Coconut Rice

Garam Masala Crusted Swordfish with Cucumber Mango Raita and Coconut Rice

Score! A beautiful day on a weekend in September… in Western Washington.  This can only mean one thing.  It’s flying weather.  O Happy Day!

Pretty Puffy Clouds at Jefferson Co. Airport, Port Townsend

As soon as the sun came up Ranger Craig and I were packing for a quick little day trip over to one of our favorite spots, Port Townsend, WA.  Fresh seafood, beautiful produce, my favorite espresso cafe and a little shopping to round out the day.

Fort Worden State Park, Port Townsend, WA

But… Ranger Craig was thinking more along the lines of a hike from Fort Worden into town and maybe a little kayaking or a visit to the wooden boat museum.  All really great ideas, yesiree bob.  But ya know,  I was ready for a little less action and a little more food shopping.

My little flying foodie, who's taller than her Mama!

Adventure Bound Bennett's

And of course, as soon as my youngest gal heard the word shopping, her adventure meter tipped the scale and she was in.

What a 13 year old will do to shop!

How much longer do I have to hike this beach?

Ok, so we compromised.  We hiked the long beach from the fort into town.  And conveniently for Ranger Craig, the wooden boat museum was on the way.

Finding a little happy in hiking

Kayaking sort of fell by the wayside, after the hour and half hike on the beach.  My hunky hiking guy had two hungry gals following him and he knew from experience that finding lunch should be next on our list of activities.  🙂

Halibut Fish and Chips

Seafood Stew with a splash of Gruyere

The Public House on Water Street was the perfect spot for lunch.  The halibut was so fresh and moist and delightfully beer battered with fresh herbs; served with Asian slaw and of course french fries.  I’d love to tell you I was a very health concious diner and didn’t eat my fries.  I ate every last one off my plate.

Ranger Craig had a seafood stew with white wine, garlic, fresh herbs and topped with a little Gruyere.  Suzie Q opted for her favorite, a grilled chicken burger which she ate in record time.  I think she was just a little hungry.

Flying Home

On the way home I had fish on the brain and more fish for dinner sounded divine.  I love swordfish and coconut and Ranger Craig loves sauce.   I’d been craving coconut rice and had a new sauce to test over fish.  I think dinner was just decided.

Tank, my Toto in disguise.

Although, I was so full from all those fries!  You’ll be glad to know, I hiked an hour with Tank the next day.  See… we can have our fries and eat them too. 🙂

Garam Masala Crusted Fish with Cucumber Mango Raita and Coconut Rice

Recipe adapted from multiple sources

Serves 2

Ingredients

For the Fish:

2 Swordfish or Mahi Mahi Steaks (halibut or Hawaiin Opah is also a great alternative) Buying fresh fish is the key to any delicious fish dish.  If the fish isn’t fresh, eat chicken.

1 tablespoon Garam Masala

Pinch of salt and Pepper

2 T high heat oil (I like pan searing in grapeseed oil)

For the Raita:

½ cup cucumber, finely diced

½ cup mango, finely diced

½ teaspoon ground cumin

2 tablespoons plain yogurt

Juice of ½ lime

Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Mix together the cucumber, mango, cumin, yogurt and lime juice.  Season to taste with salt and pepper and refrigerate until ready to serve.

In a skillet, heat the oil on medium high.  Season the two steaks on both sides with salt, pepper and garam masala.

For pan searing fish, use a well seasoned cast iron pan or ceramic coated pan.

Pan sear the fish for about 3-4 minutes on each side, or until cooked through.

Serve warm with the cucumber mango raita and coconut rice.

Classic Coconut Rice

Serves 2-4

Ingredients

1 cup coconut milk

¾ cup basmati rice

½ cup water

1 T sugar

¼ t salt

1/4 cup raisins (optional)

Directions

Combine coconut milk, rice, water, sugar and salt in a saucepan.  Bring to a boil over high heat, stir once, then cover and cook for 15-18 minutes, or until the rice is tender.  Fluff with a fork and add the raisins if desired.  Cover and keep warm.


Comments

  1. I’m really looking forward to making this! I just love those flavors together.

    Bob and I first met at Ft. Warden so it has a special place in my heart. We took the boys there for the first time last summer and had such a great day. So picturesque and Pt. Townsend is darling…

    • Awww…. What a wonderful place to have met your husband! We love that area of the peninsula. I always feel my blood pressure drop by leaps and bounds the minute we arrive. 🙂 Enjoy the recipe!

I'd love to hear from you!

