Pork with Pears and Golden Raisins

Pork Chops and Pears with Golden Raisins

I’ve become a pear hoarder. I’ve made three trips to the market this week specifically to purchase pears.

First of the season Seckel Pears

I know you’re wondering why.  Because I have pear snatchers (I guess I should say “snackers”) living in my house.

Two to be exact. Yep, the two Bennett gals.

The Pear Snatchers'

I filled my big yellow fruit bowl with a beautiful selection of perfect fall pears.  Two days later I noticed most the pears had disappeared.  Back to the market I went.  For more pears.

Yesterday, I walked into the kitchen and glanced at my fruit bowl. One pear left. Huh. Back to the market one more time.

This time I did something most Mom’s would never do.

Bosc Pears

I hid my pears.  Of course, I bought extra for the pear snatchers. 🙂

Pork with Pears and Golden Raisins

A big shout out and huge thanks to my friend, Leslie MacInnes.  Thanks for brainstorming with me on this recipe!!

Serves 4-6

Ingredients

4-6 pork chops – Although, I tested this recipe over pork chops, it would be delicious with a pork roast, pork tenderloin or pork loin chops.

For the pears

3-4 pears, diced (you can leave the skin on), I used Bosc pears

1 tablespoon butter

¼ cup chopped shallots

1/3 cup organic golden raisins (if you have dark raisins on hand feel free to substitute)

¼ cup brown sugar (not packed)

¼ cup white wine, apple cider or water

1 teaspoon five spice powder

2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar

Pinch (or more) red pepper flakes (I like my pears spicy so I add two pinches!)

Salt to taste

Fresh chopped thyme or Italian parsley for garnish (optional)

Directions

In a medium saucepan over medium high heat, add the butter and let it melt.  Once it’s melted add the shallots and sauté for about one minute.

Turn the heat to medium and stir in the remaining ingredients, except salt.  Turn the heat to low and let the pears simmer, stirring occasionally for about 15 – 20 minutes
or until the raisins and pears are soft, but not mushy.

If the pears and raisins seem dry, add a little more wine, apple cider or water to the mixture.

While the pears are simmering, prepare your pork.

Grilled Pork Chops – Heat the grill to 400F.

Brush the chops with a little oil, and sprinkle with salt and pepper or your favorite pork seasoning. I love Emeril’s essence on pork chops!

Grill the chops for about 4 minutes on each side or until the internal temperature reaches 145F, the new safe temperature standard for pork.

Take the pork off the grill and let it rest for at least five minutes before serving.  This will help re-distribute the juices in the pork and make a juicier pork chop.

Give the pears and raisins a stir and salt to taste.

Plate the pork on a platter or individual plate and top with the pears and raisins.  Garnish with fresh chopped Italian parsley or fresh thyme.  Enjoy!

Comments

  1. The pears have been fantastic, haven’t they? What a fantastic dish to use them. Love the sprinkling of thyme at the end.

  2. I agree Karen! Love pears and they are so versatile. Breads, cakes, muffins, savory dishes, poached in wine, and best of all… fresh, right off the tree! You’re so fortunate to have those pear trees in your orchard. Yum!

  3. I have pear trees in my orchard and just love their wonderful flavor. Your recipe sounds delicious with the five spice and red pepper flakes. I wonder why more people don’t eat them more often?

    • Karen, I replied to your comment, however I just discovered I didn’t hit the “reply” button, but the “comment” button instead. I think I’ve been doing this on every comment. Technology and me. Often sparring partners! Thanks for your comment, I did reply below, Have a lovely week!

I'd love to hear from you!

