Stuffed Peppadews and Salsa Baked Cheese

Stuffed Peppadews

I love peppadews.  I really love them.  I could pop a peppadew everyday.  Especially if it’s stuffed with cheese.  I even tried stuffing peppadews with my beloved Rogue Smokey Bleu Cheese.  Don’t try that.  It didn’t work.

Stuffed Peppadews

So I decided to keep it simple and blended some sheep’s milk feta with cream cheese and voila! Fresh, crisp, sweet, tangy, spicy and creamy… all rolled into one little appetizer.

Salsa Baked Cheese

Since I’m on the subject of cheese, I love this salsa baked cheese.  Chef Rick Bayless created this indulgent little dish and it’s a perfect party starter or a casual dinner appetizer.

Tio Cameron's Homemade Salsa

I love serving it with beautiful blue corn chips.  It looks like sunshine on a plate.

Wishing you all the happiest, healthiest and most delicious New Year!  Cheers!!

Loads of Love,

Karista

Stuffed Peppadews

Ingredients

1-3 jars peppadews (depending on how many people you’re serving. I usually prepare 3 peppers per person. Although I could eat an entire jar all by myself.)

4 ounces cream cheese

4 ounces sheep’s milk feta (or goats milk feta if you like)

Chopped toasted walnuts or pecans for garnish (optional)

Pastry bag for piping or a ziploc bag

Directions

In a food processor, blend together the cheeses until creamy.

Fill a pastry bag or ziploc bag (cut the corner of the ziploc to pipe the cheese) with the cheese and pipe into each peppadew.  Sometimes the peppadews are cranky and won’t stand up but that’s ok.  They look absolutely stunning on a large white platter or long platter.

Top with chopped nuts if desired and set on your beautifully decorated table to be happily eaten by your guests.

Salsa Baked Cheese

Adapted from Rick Bayless

Ingredients

4 ounces soft goat cheese (Chevre)(I’m allergic to goats cheese so I substitute with feta)

4 ounces cream cheese

2 tablespoons coarsely chopped chives

1 jar of your favorite salsa or Tio’s Salsa (about 2 cups)

Fresh chopped cilantro

Directions

Add the cheeses to the food processor and combine thoroughly until creamy.  Then add the fresh chive and pulse until combined.

Scoop the cheese into the center of an ovenproof baking dish and form it into a 5-inch-diameter disc. Spoon the salsa over and around the cheese, set in the oven and bake until heated through, 10 to 15 minutes.

Sprinkle with the cilantro and set out to enjoy as a dip or a spread on crackers, chunks of bread or toasted croutons.

Serves 4 to 6 as an appetizer.

Comments

  1. I’ve never seen one of those b4 but the peppers I get are about 2x the size of that I stuff them with a mixture of grated locatelli cheese, poultry seasoning, salt, pepper, garlic powder, few slices of white bread and some milk until it all stick together stuff the peppers. Put them in a pan until they are a lil brown on the open end and a lil on the sides and marinate them in balsamic over night longer they sit the better they get. Might have to post the recipe on my blog next time I make them. Thanks for sharing

  2. Would you believe that I have never had Peppadews? They look incredible especially stuffed with all that cheese! Yummy! 🙂

    • You’re not alone Christina. They are now becoming a popular little pepper and I discovered them just last year. And doesn’t cheese just make everything better? Happy New Year!

  3. Love your mexi-awesome theme choice! Seems like lots of my fav food bloggers are picking a meal theme for NYE. We’re making a Vietnamese spread since we got the most gorgeous cookbook for Christmas to start testing out.

    • Haha! I think Christine it’s more my love of all things cheese! But Mexican rates up there for me too. Mmm…. your Vietnamese spread sounds divine. Can’t wait to see what your cooking up for NYE. Wishing you a happy and healthy and very successful New Year!

  4. Cookery For Two says:

    Great party friendly recipes! But what the heck are Peppadews ??? I’ve never heard of them – are they very spicey? Looking to maybe try this for an upcoming game night at our place.

    Thanks for sharing!

    ~ Cookery for Two

    http://cookeryfortwo.wordpress.com/

    • Peppadews are a sweet and mildly spicy piquante pepper, from South Africa. They look like cherry peppers but they taste much different. Kind of sweet and sour with a little kick. They’re now commercially sold either in bulk with the bulk olives or in jars in the olive and pickle aisle. Hope this helps! I know once you try one you’ll be hooked! Happy New Year!!

  5. I would love to try this! I think Bob would love them too. He’s a huge pepper fan. Are they spicy? Can I find them near the olives in the grocery store?

    • Maria, I find them either in the olive aisle at QFC or in the bulk olives/cheese section at PCC. They are tangy, slightly sweet with a spicy kick. Not hot, just spicy. You could do the same with other antipasti peppers, I just happen to love the particular flavor of peppadews.

  6. Absolutely Karen! And they’re so pretty to boot. They make a lovely little starter (or snack). Happiest of New Years to you Karen and can’t wait to see what you cook up next! 🙂

  7. cheesed stuffed peppers… this is one of the great ideas of our time! I’ve got to try this… new years appetizer perhaps…

  8. I agree with you…i love peppadews and stuffing them with cheese is always a treat.

I'd love to hear from you!

