Winter Vegetable Cobbler

Winter Vegetable Cobbler

I have a fierce affinity for the little cookbook that was.  Or that didn’t.  Or that’s sitting alone on a shelf, in the bookstore.  The edges frayed from having sat there too long and being shuffled about while the new books takes its place.

Winter Delicious

And I have another fierce affinity for cookbooks from yesterday.  Cookbooks from founding members of the culinary world.  Escoffier (given to me by my Mother), Dione Lucas and Julia Child (given to me by my dearest Auntie Ellen). They are my most cherished books.

Food Love

Sometimes, when I find myself with a rare quiet moment, I love to browse my collection of cookbooks.  So diverse, unique and all so delicious.

Reminds me of the world in which we live.

Winter Vegetable Cobbler

A lovely little dish I found in a fabulous Irish Pub Cookbook.  Here in the U.S. we find cobblers typically served as a sweet dish.  But in Ireland, and other parts of Europe, you’ll find hearty savory cobblers with meat, poultry and vegetables.  This recipe is a delicious vegetarian version.  But for those who’d like to make this a bit heartier, add some diced roasted chicken to the dish.  Divine!

Serves 4-6

The ingredient list looks long, but it’s really a breeze.  Just a little bit of chopping and then it all goes in the pot and into the oven.

Ingredients

1 tablespoon olive oil or butter

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 large onions, chopped

2 celery stalks, sliced

1 rutabaga, chopped

3 carrots, chopped

1 parsnip, chopped

1 head cauliflower, chopped

1 14oz can diced tomatoes

1 cup sliced cremini or button mushrooms

2 tablespoons cornstarch

1 teaspoon dried Italian herbs

2-4 cups vegetable broth (I love the Rapunzel brand Veggie bouillon cubes with sea salt and herbs)

1 sprig fresh oregano

2 sprigs fresh thyme

1 bay leaf

Dash of Tabasco, or your favorite hot sauce

Fresh chopped Italian parsley or chive (for garnish)

Cobbler Topping

*2 cups self rising flour

Pinch of salt

4 tablespoons butter

1 cup cheddar cheese, shred

2 teaspoons fresh chive

1 egg, lightly beaten

2/3 cup milk

For the cobbler topping:

Cut butter into flour and then add the chive and cheese.  Whisk together the egg and milk and add all but a tablespoon of the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients, mixing until the dough is soft.  Set aside until ready to top veggies.

For the veggies:

Pre-heat the oven to 350F.

Heat a Dutch oven or ovenproof stock pot over medium high heat with the tablespoon of oil or butter.

Then add the onions.  Let the onions cook down and wilt and caramelize a bit.  When the onions are golden add the garlic, sautéing for one minute.

Then add the celery, carrots and remaining veggies.  Cook until the veggies are softened and wilted.

Then add the mushrooms and tomatoes.

Next, mix together the cornstarch and water.  Then stir it into the pot with the broth, Tabasco, dried and fresh herbs.

Place in the oven and let it simmer for 20 minutes.

To Finish the cobbler:

Drop the biscuits onto the vegetables, brush with remaining liquid  and bake the cobbler at 400F for about 10-12 minutes.

Options:  Add diced roasted chicken to the veggies before adding cobbler topping. 

Recipe adapted from the cookbook Irish Pub Cooking, Parragon Books ltd.

*To make self rising flour:

For each cup of all-purpose flour add 1 ¼ teaspoons baking powder and ¼ teaspoon salt.  Mix to combine.

Comments

  1. Just came across this on your blog and it’s the most terrific idea! Although it’s no longer winter-winter, I want to make it right away!

    • Thanks! I love this dish, although my family was expecting some chicken in it and they were sort of disappointed. It’s great either way, but I love it vegetarian.

  2. This looks fantastic – and I love your unique cookbook collection!

  3. Jody Ulrich says:

    Hi Karista,

    I noticed something in your recipe that’s probably not correct … tobacco. Doesn’t sound very yummy. Perhaps you meant tobasco? : )

    • Hahaha!! Yes Jody, thank you for catching that. I’ll correct it immediately. It’s tobasco indeed. Not tobacco. Don’t you just love the auto spell check???

  4. The topping looks perfect!

  5. I never would have thought do a savory cobbler but WOW is all I have to say. This looks amazing. I, too, love the odd and/or old cookbook and one of my favorite things is to curl up in bed and read them before I go to sleep!

    • Thanks Kelley. I’m always looking for, or trying to create, dishes that utilize our seasonal bounty. Which is somewhat limited at the moment. This just seemed like the perfect winter dish, comforting and healthy all at the same time. And if I read my cookbooks before I go to sleep, I end up cooking in my sleep all night! LOL!

  6. Vegetable cobbler…what a great idea! It looks scrumptious.

  7. That cobbler toppling is looks ridiculously amazing. Wow. Like a pillow of savory roasted marshmallows, if that makes any sense. Delicious!

  8. OH wow. That looks beautiful! So pretty and such a great sounding dish and recipe.

  9. That sounds amazing…all full of warm, winter goodness.
    Thanks for sharing it!

  10. Oooooh, this looks delicious! I’m always on the look out for balanced dishes like this to eat on Saturday nights. I need lots of veg and some simple carbs to fuel me up for my Sunday morning long runs, but I also love to make things that feel special on the weekend! This will really fit the bill!

    • Thank Christine! I love this dish so much I’ve made it twice in a week. And I also prepared it for two of my clients. Comfort food that’s healthy! And I wish I was a runner. I try. I really do. But I love to hike, to walk, kayak, ski and all those wonderful things. But my sister keeps telling me I still need to run. LOL!

  11. Emma @ Sweet Mabel says:

    Sounds delicious, perfect for a chilly day! X

Trackbacks

  1. […] in your bones this time of year, so dishes like Soup Addict’s Chicken Coconut Curry Soup and Karista’s Winter Vegetable Cobbler are still making appearances in our meal plans over the next few […]

I'd love to hear from you!

