Superbowl Sliders! Asian Marinated Pork Tenderloin Sliders with Sauteed Sweet Onions and Hot Mustard

Asian Marinated Pork Tenderloin Sliders with Sweet Onions and Hot Mustard

My sister emailed me this morning asking if I had any Superbowl Sunday recipes to share.  “When is Superbowl Sunday?” I emailed back.  “Sunday”  My sister replies.

Superbowl Sliders

Oh shoot!  Where have I been?  Hiding under a rock somewhere? I have obviously not been paying attention.  And yes, I’ve seen Ranger Craig watching football since the season began.  But it didn’t occur to me that Superbowl is a few days away.   Honestly, I think I’m way past Superbowl and Groundhog day.  I’ve moved onto Valentines already!

My new cutting board from my friend Heidi

Although I seem to be oblivious of football season, I’m not oblivious about the food involved.  So into my recipe vaults I went and pulled out this delish little dish.

Simply prepared and packed with flavor.  It’ll be a knockout with all the football fans in your home!  Hmmm… I think that’s a boxing term.   How about… it’ll be a roaring touchdown with all the football fans in your home!  I think that’ll work. 🙂

Grilled Asian Marinated Pork Tenderloin Sliders with Sautéed Sweet Onions and Swiss Cheese

Serves 12

Ingredients

2 lbs Pork Tenderloin (not marinated) Each whole tenderloin is about 1lb each.

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup low sodium soy sauce

1/4 cup mirin (Japanese cooking wine)

1/4 cup brown sugar, packed

1 teaspoon (or more to taste) Asian chili paste or hot sauce (I like Thai Kitchen Roasted Red Chili Paste)

1 tablespoon fresh grated ginger

6-8 cloves garlic, smashed and chopped

Dash of sesame oil

1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Serve with:

Sautéed Sweet Onions (recipe below)

Hot mustard

Slices of Swiss cheese (optional)

Mini or slider buns, or Hawaiin Bread Rolls

Directions

Combine marinade ingredients in a large ziploc bag or glass baking dish.  Add the tenderloins to the marinade and refrigerate for at least 4 hours or overnight.

To prepare:

Pre-heat the grill to 375F (The pork can also be oven roasted. See below).  Place the tenderloins on the grill and cook for about 15-20 minutes or until the internal temperature reaches 145F.

You may need to flip the tenderloins a time or two to keep the marinade from burning and evenly brown the pork.

When the pork is done remove from the heat and place on a cutting board to rest for 10 minutes.

Thinly slice the pork and assemble on slider buns, topped with a small slice of Swiss cheese and warm sautéed sweet onions.

Serve with Asian hot sauce or hot mustard mixed

*The pork can also be roasted in a 375F oven until the internal temperature reaches 145F.  About 20 minutes.

Add a little of the marinade in the roasting pan or baking dish to keep the tenderloin moist.

Sautéed Sweet Onions

Ingredients

3 large sweet onions, halved and thin sliced (Walla Walla, Vidalia, Maui, Texas Sweet)

4 tablespoons clarified butter or oil

Directions

Heat the butter over medium heat in a large sauté pan or skillet.  When the butter is melted and/or oil is hot, add all the onions. Keep turning the onions in the pan for the first few minutes to keep them from burning.  Turn down the heat to medium low if needed.

Let the onions cook down, stirring occasionally, until they are golden brown and caramelized.  This usually takes about 20 – 30 minutes.  Once they are nicely golden brown remove them from the heat.

Season with a pinch of salt and serve with the pork sliders.

Comments

  1. These look absolutely fantastic, I’ve got to try them. I agree with you.. its time to get into valentines day cooking! Hmmm… what goes nicely with chocolate?

  2. Whoa! Too good!

  3. Totally yummy. I could definitely eat more than one.

  4. These sliders look incredible! Perfect football food! 🙂

  5. oh my lot would love me if I served these up! great work.. c

  6. No superbowl here, but I could pretend just so that I could make this!

  7. Looks delicious! Hope I can find a similar recipe using beef.

  8. Love and I Do says:

    omg looks so yummy!! def going to try!!

    http://www.LoveandIDo.wordpress.com

  9. This is a great easy recipe top put together, I’ll remember this one next Sunday!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Asian Marinated Pork Tenderloin Sliders […]

I'd love to hear from you!

