Spanish White Bean Stew (My version of Fabada)

www.karistaskitchen.com

Cooking is always an adventure in my kitchen.  Especially when I’m testing a new recipe.  Or a new recipe idea. I have lots of ideas.

Spanish White Bean Stew

Some of them end up in the compost.  Yep… even I can create a few recipe stinkers.

Uli's Spanish Chorizo

This was a disastrous stinker.  One that I wasn’t sure I could turn into a triumph.

I kid you not.

I won’t go into details.  It’s too painful.  Let’s just say it involved the compost bin.

Smoked Paprika

I thought ALL was lost at one point.  But I pulled on my most clever culinary thinking cap and thankfully my disastrous stinker of a recipe idea came together.  Phew!

Because if it didn’t work out, the Bennett Crew would be eating Pizza tonight.

They had pizza last night.  That’s another story for another day.  🙂

Spanish White Bean Stew

This is my version of the absolutely fantastic Fabada Asturiana. A slow cooked and richly flavored Spanish stew.

It’s typically prepared with large Asturian white beans (Fabes), different types of sausages such as Blood sausage and Spanish chorizo and smoked paprika.  Because we can’t always find traditional Spanish meats, sausages and large white beans here in the States, I created my own little version.  Certainly far from the traditional stew, but still richly flavored, beautiful in presentation and simply prepared.

Serves 4-6

Ingredients

Extra virgin olive oil

1 large onion, finely chopped

5 cloves garlic, finely chopped

1 tablespoon smoked paprika

2- 15 ounce cans white beans (I use Cannellini beans, Eden Organic is my fave brand and they are BPA free cans!)

2-3 cups chicken stock

1/2 lb Spanish Chorizo sausage (I use uncooked chorizo from Uli’s Famous Sausage Company here in Seattle)

1 cup diced smoked ham, or more to taste

1 bay leaf

Salt and pepper to taste

Pinch of red pepper flakes (optional)

Directions

If using uncooked chorizo: In a large soup pot over medium heat, add a drizzle of oil and brown the chorizo.

Add the chicken stock and bay leaf  to the soup pot and very gently simmer until the chorizo is done, about 10 minutes.  If using cooked chorizo, add it at this point but no need to simmer for 10 minutes.

Next, stir in the beans, keeping heat on low.

In a sauté pan over medium heat, add about 2 tablespoons oil.  Add the onions and garlic and cook until just wilted.

Stir in the smoked paprika and cook for a minute longer.

Gently stir the onion paprika mixture into the beans and chorizo and then add the diced ham.

Let the stew gently simmer for about 10 minutes to allow the flavors to develop.  This stew gets better with time.  So if you have an hour before dinner, just let it sit on the stove, resting, and the flavor will be even better.

Serve warm with crusty bread to dunk into the stew.  Yum!

This stew will hold in the frig for several days.

Comments

  1. Love your honesty Karista — makes the rest of us feel better about our kitchen disasters. This dish sounds and looks wonderful!!!! 🙂

  2. I am so thankful that I’m not the only one who struggles with flops once in awhile, lol. We have our fair share of pizza nights. Or as I call them, I give up nights. 🙂

  3. This looks incredible. I’m going to give it a shot next week.

    thanks!

    Scott

  4. Oh i can see how that would end up being a lovely stew.. we have dogs and chickens that eat my failures, also i am lucky to have a husband who will eat just about anything but then he usually says “Well i don’t mind if you don’t make that again!” c

    • Hahaha! Cecilia, my husband says the same when he doesn’t like a dish. My little guy Tank can’t eat much people food or he’ll get to chubby. He has a tendency to put on weight quickly. He’s one of those stocky little terriers. I would dearly love to someday have a farm full of animals. It must be so much fun. I love life on a farm.

  5. We love your blog. Keep posting your recipes 🙂

  6. I love this type of Spanish style stew and yours looks like agreat success to me

    • Thanks Alli! It was a trial in the beginning but ended up perfectly delicious. And the leftovers were even better th next day. Have a lovely week and thanks for stopping by!

  7. I know what you mean…I think we’ve all had some disasters in the kitchen…compostable or not! This stew looks quite delicious, though!

I'd love to hear from you!

