Asian Style Rhubarb and Ginger Sauce with Mandarin Oranges… Perfect for Scallops, Shrimp or Pork

Asian Rhubarb and Ginger Sauce with Mandarin Oranges

Vivaldi is playing softly in the background and songbirds are humming a tune outside my window.

A tranquil moment in time.

A moment I relish with deep pleasure.

Another picture of the Scallops... I couldn't decide which to post!

And then the front door slams.

Tank, the mean and ferocious terrier, barks and howls as two voices chatter loudly all the way into the kitchen.

Which is right next to my office.  Which happens to be the dining room we never use.

It has the best view of the mountains.  So I joyfully turned it into my office, hoping the beautiful view and songbirds would inspire.

And they do.  Most of the time.

Until the Bennett Crew arrives home and Vivaldi is replaced by Jason Mraz, and songbirds are replaced by the ever escalating giggling conversations of the two sassy Bennett gals.  Ahhh… the tranquility.

I wouldn’t trade it for a thing.

Asian Style Rhubarb and Ginger Sauce

Serve this sauce with pan seared scallops, grilled shrimp, roasted pork loin or pan seared or grilled pork chops.  I also love it served with mandarin oranges and lots of sliced scallions (green onions).

Serves 3-4

Ingredients

2 – 3 stalks fresh rhubarb (try to find the thinner stalks, about 1- 1 1/2 inches in width)

1/4 cup brown sugar

2 tablespoons Tamari (I used low sodium)

1 tablespoon rice wine vinegar

1 teaspoon fresh grated ginger (or more to taste)

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 teaspoon roasted red chili paste (I like Thai Kitchen), or a dash of Sriracha or a pinch of cayenne

1/2 – 1 cup mandarin oranges

1/4 cup or good handful sliced scallions (green onions)

Directions

Trim the ends of the rhubarb and then thinly slice the rhubarb stalks and place into a small pot.  Add the brown sugar, Tamari, vinegar, grated ginger, garlic and red chili paste and stir over medium high heat.

Bring the mixture to a lively simmer and stir.  Turn the heat down and let the sauce simmer until the rhubarb has softened and broken down, about 8-10 minutes.

Give it a good stir and let it cool for a few minutes.  Place the sauce in a blender or food processor and puree.  Adding a tablespoon or two of water if needed to thin the sauce.  Taste for seasoning, adding salt, pepper, chili, ginger or cayenne as needed.  This is definitely one of those sauces prepared to taste.

Serve the sauce with mandarin oranges and sliced scallions (green onions).  Serve with pan seared or grilled scallops, shrimp, or pork.  Great as a grill sauce!

Comments

  1. That looks so fabulous! You should enable the Pinterest button so people can pin and share your lovely photos.

  2. Really nice photos. Rhubarb is so underutilized so I am glad to see you working with it. Your blog is very polished and attractive.
    Cheers!
    M

    • Thanks M for the lovely compliment! Although I cook professionally, I’m technically challenged. Your words are inspiration. 🙂

      • I had side catering biz for a dozen years. I have not cooked for money in awhile. I admire anyone who does as it is an enormous challenge. Best to you!

      • So you know the challenges! I don’t cater any longer either, it was just too much work. I now work as a Personal Chef with an emphasis on nutrional therapy. I love it. Truly rewarding. All the best to you as well!

  3. Love Tamari & Scallops, this dish looks such a delicious flavour combination, yet so simple. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Wow, all of your recipes are all so inspirational and what my hubby and I would call taste-explosions.
    🙂 Mandy

    • Thank you Mandy! Your comment makes my heart smile. I strive to create and prepare fresh, full of flavor food that satisfys the palate as well as the tummy. 🙂 thank you so much for stopping by!

  5. This sounds fantastic 🙂

  6. So pretty. I adore your photography. This dish is truly beautiful and sounds wonderful.

    • Thanks Frugal! I got a new camera for Christmas and it’s not been easy to learn. Some days it takes at least 60 snaps to get one good shot. Haha! I may need a photography class. I love rhubarb and ginger together. I’ve been wanting to make one of Rachel Allen’s cakes. A rhubarb and ginger cake. Yum!

  7. Hola Karista, hope you can find more tranquility times, where I live in Spain it’s also a very quite place, I’m between the mountains and the sea, ( we say casa de campo).
    This meal is just all I like, thanks for sharing, have a lovely week.:)

    • Hola Katya! Thank you for the kind comments. Yes, I love my tranquil moments. Haha! Your area of Spain looks beautiful. I’d love to visit someday! You too have a wonderful week.

I'd love to hear from you!

