Pancetta and Radicchio Wrapped Grilled Scallops

Grilled Scallops

Grilled Scallops Wrapped in Radicchio and Pancetta

I am my own worst enemy when it comes to my craft.  The brilliant recipe idea that turns into utter disaster and causes my heart to plummet off the side of a cliff.  Or, one of my favorite scallop recipes, so delicious and so wonderfully summer, is less than adequately represented in my less than stellar photography.  My lip drags the floor as I am in desperate need of a good pout.

grilled scallops

Grilled to perfection!

Ok, so now you know I have a flair for the dramatic and I’m somewhat of a perfectionist.   Not a perfectionist in all things, just some things.  And yes, dramatic in most things.  An embarrassing attribute according to my two sassy gals.

grilled scallops

Wrapping the Scallops

I’m not a perfectionist house keeper for example (this pains me to admit), except the kitchen of course.  Then I become the perfection monster.  I sometimes feel like the absent-minded professor, only it’s not academia that captures my attention, it’s food.

grilled scallops

Wrapped and Ready to Grill

Scallops are capturing my attention at the moment. Actually, these lovelies show up often as the weather warms… and I can grill outside without suiting up in rain gear.

Sometimes Ranger Craig and I will find ourselves with a sunny Saturday evening and no sassy gals at home (I say this lovingly).  We’ll toss these mouthwatering scallops on the grill and open our favorite Pinot Grigio.  I’ll grab my heavy coat (it may be sunny, just not very warm), and we sit out on the deck, as if we’re dining middle of summer in Tuscany.  Perfetto!

Grilled Scallops Wrapped In Radicchio and Pancetta

Serves 2 as a main course or 4 as a starter

Ingredients

10-12 large sea scallops

Extra virgin olive oil

Salt and pepper to taste

10-12 radicchio leaves, rinsed and dried

10-12 slices pancetta

1 lemon

Directions

Place the scallops in a bowl and toss with olive oil, salt and pepper until well coated. Wrap a scallop in a radicchio leaf and then wrap with a slice of pancetta, securing the pancetta and radicchio to the scallop with a toothpick. Repeat until all the scallops have been wrapped in the radicchio and pancetta. If a scallop is too large for the radicchio, just cut the scallop in half.

Pre-heat the grill to 400F. Grill the scallops over medium heat for about 5-6 minutes until the pancetta is crispy. Squeeze a little lemon juice over each scallop and serve immediately.

A traditional Tuscan dish

Comments

  1. I am so looking forward to trying these…YUM! Thanks for the fabulous recipe, as always!

  2. Clever idea. I must try it!

  3. What a fabulous sounding dish, Karista! I love this and can imagine how good it is with the pancetta flavoring the radicchio and the scallop, and so pretty, too! I’m not sure what you’re talking about with the photos…they look great to me.

  4. They truly are grilled to perfection!!!

  5. peasepudding says:

    Gosh that could have been me writin that, I’m a terrible house keeper but like my kitchen tidy and god help hubby if he leaves stuff around. My lip drops too when a dish or photo doesn’t turn out how I want and I am obsessed by food. Love your scallop dish.

  6. I love the simple ingredients of Italian cooking. Your photos turned out lovely despite what you think.

    • Thank you Bam! I too love the simplicity of Italian cuisine. I’m still in a sharp learning curve with my new camera, doesn’t always do what I want. Lol! Thanks for the kind words!

  7. I have to disagree- you photos are always lovely, and these scallops seem to be no exception 🙂 I smiled so big picturing you two in coats with an evening to yourself grilling scallops with a pinot grigio… perfetto indeed 😀

    • Aww… Thanks Deb! Sometimes my camera just doesn’t do what I want it to do 🙂 And I tend to chuckle at myself all buttoned up sitting out on the deck enjoying dinner and a glass of wine.

  8. Pancetta! One of the best ways to eat pork. Pork is my favorite meat. I have had scallops with bacon but pancetta sounds even better! I pinned this so I can make it.

  9. Ah, perfection . . . yes, I know this grievous foe! He whispers in my ear, too . . . He can be useful, of course, but we must do or best to flick at him when starts to overstay his welcome.

    This recipe — and I should mention I really, really, really don’t like scallops — looks incredibly yummy. I wouldn’t even hesitate to grab a fork and take a chance. YOU make everything look good. I cannot wait for your book, Karista. I, of course, want an autographed copy. 🙂

    Have a wonderful day, love.

    Cara

  10. So elegant!

  11. Perhaps a little out of my price range, but oh so delicious and decadent. I LOVE the use of the raddicchio! So pretty.

    • Decadent indeed, and I often find these lovelies on special at my fish market. Makes me feel a bit less guilty for indulging. 🙂 Happy Weekend Frugal!

  12. I’ve always had a soft spot for scallops – these look super delicious!

  13. Patrick Possanza says:

    This sounds terrific and even better, easy to prepare! I will for sure do this when we have company (my wife isn’t much of a shellfish eater).

  14. Totally love scallops on the grill! And sitting outside with wine.. your perfectionism has made you a awesome chef and photographer!!

  15. why don’t you just starve me Karista? jeez this looks good 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

