I first posted this recipe in the spring of 2010. One of Karista’s Kitchen most popular and requested recipes, and for good reason.
It’s a slow cooked recipe perfect for the Dutch oven or a slow cooker. An incredibly rich and flavorful dish that will have you coming back for seconds. I promise!
Please forgive the photography…. those were my Cannon quick pix days. 🙂
Loads of Love to you all!
Karista

Karista's Kitchen

Years ago I met a lovely woman named Sianna.  An older woman, a wise woman and a woman whose every word I seemed to tuck away in the file drawers of my mind.  She was fascinationg. Full of  adventurous life stories and snippets of wisdom that I’m sure she felt my ears needed to hear.  🙂

Sianna, originally from Tuscany, sent me the most wonderful book; The Tuscan Year by Elizabeth Romer.   Written many years ago by the English Author who spent a year with a Tuscan family.  Elizabeth Romer documents each seasons harvest and the foods prepared in the region as well as the everyday life of the small Tuscan village.  If you love books about culture and food, this is a fun, and might I say delicious read.

One of the recipes, a Stracotto, is a beef stew made with wine and herbs.  It’s braised until the meat falls apart and is almost overcooked, which is what “stracotto”…

View original post 539 more words

Comments

  1. Looks delicious as all your recipes….

  2. peasepudding says:

    I’m so glad winter, hearty stews and polenta season is here. Looks amazing

    • Thank you. Although I prepare this during the spring and summer, I think it’s most delicious served on a chilly Fall evening. Happy Cooking!

  3. I think this is one of the best photos!!! You captured the creamy polenta, soft shreds of beef and the sauce with the parsley garnish make me (happy) because winters approaching and I get to eat food like this!!! Nice re-blog Snd a very stylish dish, and yum!

    • Haha! Thank you! And hope you enjoy this for your winter. Even though it’s warming up here I still make this at least once or twice a month. 🙂

  4. Oh man do I love slow cooked dishes with either creamy polenta or risotto. Looks delicious!

  5. I can certainly see why this would be a favorite recipe. It sounds amazing, and I love the parmesan in the polenta…I’m sure it rounds out the beef braise so nicely!

  6. Mmmmm this looks fantastic!

  7. This looks so tasty! And since I didn’t see it the first time around, it’s all new to me :).

    • Thanks! It’s one of those wonderful slow cooked meals that requires only a little work before cooking and a little work after. Great for my busy week!

  8. Denise frisbee says:

    Have tried the Mexican stuffed peppers, the chicken with spicy red peppers AND the shrimp linguine— all wonderful! Now will try this–Thanks for the inspiration!

  9. This looks AMAZING – I will definitely be trying this – will be sure to give props and link back to you —

I'd love to hear from you!

