Caprese Rosemary Skewers

Caprese Rosemary Skewers drizzled with Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar

Caprese Rosemary Skewers

Summer has arrived and alfresco dining has begun!  I’m loving these seasonal appetizers that help me use the abundance of rosemary growing in my garden.

They’re also a delicious way to use summer’s sweet cherry tomatoes.  Although if I have a bowl of cherry tomatoes sitting on the counter they don’t seem to last long.  A favorite snack for the Bennett Crew.

Beautifully arranged on a platter, drizzled with my favorite California Ranch Olive Oil and aged balsamic vinegar, and served as an appetizer or last course with a favorite summer cocktail or wine.  To complement this lovely little nibble, I place a basket of fresh Italian bread on the table, you know, to soak up the extra oil and vinegar .

A little announcement and the reason I’ve been a bit tardy about posting new recipes… we’re making a move.  Karista’s Kitchen is going to be a self-hosted website soon.  You will see a new look and much easier navigation.  New recipes coming with a more user-friendly method for printing recipes.  My super, duper fabulous web guy, Steve from SteveWare Labs is working hard, long and tedious hours to re-create Karista’s Kitchen.  It’ll be launching soon so I’ll keep you posted.

Enjoy the deliciousness of summer!

Loads of love,

Karista

Caprese Rosemary Skewers

Ingredients

Cherry Tomatoes

Small Mozzarella Balls

Sprigs of rosemary, preferably older rosemary so the sprigs are sturdier

Basil leaves, torn into pieces

Olive oil, I like the Arbequina from California Olive Ranch Olive Oil Company

Balsamic vinegar, preferably aged

Directions

Remove leaves from the rosemary stalks, leave just a sprig of leaves at the top for decoration.

Skewer the rosemary, alternating with cherry tomatoes, torn basil leaves and mozzarella balls.  Once they are all skewered, drizzle with good quality balsamic vinegar or glaze and then with the olive oil.  Sprinkle with a little sea salt and serve.

Comments

  1. I like this site so can only imagine the next one. You are one busy girl!!!

  2. Just catching up and this is so perfect for those summertime gatherings! Best of luck on the “move” — can’t wait to see the new look!!!!! 🙂

  3. How gorgeous for summer, and using the rosemary sprigs this way is just one of those aha! kitchen moments I love. Fantastic!

  4. Good luck with the move Karista and can’t wait to see your new little place. I love the aged balsamic drizzled over your platter. A very fun and easy appetizer for alfresco dining. Take Care, BAM

  5. I am going to try this, I love rosemary. I smiled when you said the cherry tomatoes do not last long on the counter. For me, it is those tiny yellow tomatoes, and I can never get enough of kumatoes, those brownish, green tomatoes that are so low acid and delicious.

  6. foodiecrush says:

    Pinned and pinned.

  7. I love this trick. I do it all the time when I’m catering- it imparts a subtle rosemary flavor and couldn’t get more gorgeous. I look forward to the new and improved Karista’s Kitchen!

    • It’s a pretty little app and I love that it uses fresh whole food ingredients. Great use for my mountains of rosemary too! Hugs to you my friend and wishing you a fabulous summer with your beautiful boys!

  8. Congrats on the upgrades Karista – I can’t wait to see everything come together! Such a simple dish but so much flavor – love these!

  9. Looks so lovely and refreshing. I just love this! Can’t wait to see the new site too! Yay!!

  10. These look so beautiful – I can’t wait to try making some to enjoy with iur next barbecue. We have lots of rosemary in our garden too so a perfect way to put it to good use. And I can’t wait to see your new site. I’m thinking about going self-hosted but haven’t quite plucked up the courage yet!

    • Thanks so much Vanesther! I thought about self hosting for a long time and it felt like a giant leap! LOL! But I have an awesome web guy that’s been fabulous to work with and put up with my thousand and one questions. 🙂

  11. Very pretty presentation and a delicious way to enjoy caprese!

  12. Congratulations…I’ll look forward to your “new kitchen”. This is a lovely appetizer for when I start harvesting cherry tomatoes from our garden.

  13. Summer weather has hit here too, but the tomatoes (even tiny ones!) are still a week or so away…as soon as the Little One eats her fill, we’ll skewer some right up.
    Maybe by September? 😉
    Looking forward to your new site!

I'd love to hear from you!

