Savory Blueberry Ginger Salsa

fresh blueberry ginger salsa with shallots and mint

Savory Blueberry Ginger Salsa

It’s funny how sometimes life rolls in a direction never anticipated.  Catching us by surprise, with both trepidation and promise.

It’s been an eventful year for my family.  My first-born conquering a long and tedious health challenge, my youngest discovering the heartbreak and joy of her first year in high school.   A brilliant year of cooking classes filled with the most wonderful home chef’s I’ve ever met.  New clients, new colleagues, new recipes and articles created and new friends made.   And we’re only half way through the year!

Change happens.  It’s inevitable.  I’ve had a lifetime of change.  I thought I’d become familiar with the word, until I realized the memories I will soon leave behind.  Yes, we’re moving down the road a bit, to a darling little town in the Willamette Valley, Oregon.  Still the beautiful Pacific Northwest that I know and love.

It’s bittersweet.  I have the best friends here.  Friends who bring our grieving family delicious baked goods, flowers and cards when our sweet old Airedale, Elwood, passed.  Friends who cooked meals for a week when my sweet oldest Sassy Gal came home from surgery.  Beautiful flowers arriving daily, cards that expressed love and sympathy, happy thoughts and prayers.

Karista's Kitchen

Me and My Two Sassy Gals… and our Airedale, Elwood

Friends that have loved and continue to love my children like their own.  I love that.  I’ve always felt it takes a village to raise a child.

I know my friends and I will remain close.  After all,  this is the era of social media and I’ll only be a few hours down the road.  But I will miss them.

Brilliant, strong, independent, artistic, supportive, beautiful women who have made a huge impact on my life.  I would list you all, but I’m afraid I might miss someone!  You know who you are.  I love you!

So, in a few weeks, Karista’s Kitchen will have a new home on the world-wide web.   And, Karista Bennett (and the Bennett Crew) will make their new home in the Willamette Valley, Oregon.

I proceed with trepidation, but also promise.  Promise of new discoveries, new challenges, new ideas, new farms to visit, new places for Ranger Craig and I to fly :), new recipes to share and new friends to be made.

It may take me a few weeks until I post next.  I’d like to say I’m a good multi-tasker, but unfortunately, that will never be included in my list of talents.

So until next time, I wish you happy trails, lots of summer sunshine, good health and loads of love!

Delicious Wishes,

Karista

Blueberry Ginger Salsa

I posted this recipe last summer and it’s been a hit at my house.  Perfect for summer grilling, I pair this salsa with grilled halibut, Hawaiian Opah, Blue fish, Cod, scallops (or any white fish) and grilled chicken.

Ingredients

Serves 4

1 pint fresh blueberries

1 heaping tablespoon finely chopped shallots

½ teaspoon fresh grated ginger

1 tablespoon chopped fresh mint (cilantro would also be a delish substitute!)

Squeeze of Lemon (about a tablespoon)

Dash of Olive oil (a few teaspoons)

Teaspoon or two of honey

Salt and pepper

Directions

Slice the blueberries in half if you can, or lightly chop.

Toss together the blueberries, shallots, ginger, and mint.

In a bowl whisk together the lemon juice, olive oil, and honey.

Toss the lemon oil with the blueberries and season to taste with salt and pepper.

This is definitely one of those recipes you can prepare to taste.  A little more ginger, a little less mint or maybe a little more honey.  Whatever you decide, it’ll be delicious!

Comments

  1. Hi Karista, no doubt you’re either settling in, or just about on your way to the new digs. I’ve no doubt that it’s been a few months of big big changes all for the better no doubt. I hope life finds you well and you’re looking forward to autumnal bounty as the weather cools. Take care x

  2. Wishing you a smooth move – hope you are settled by now enjoying your new home 🙂
    The salsa looks fabulous Karista!

  3. Best of everything with your move – I hope settling in is going well. I am thankful your oldest is recovering. Stay well and all the best

    • Thank you so much for stopping by! We are finally re-located and now its on with the unpacking. My girls are well, thank you for your sweet words. I hopped over briefly and checked out your blog. Beautiful! I can’t wait to browse more when I have time. Wishing you all the best as well, Karista

  4. As much as I would have loved to have spent more time together, I am excited for you and look forward to seeing your new digs. I have a feeling you’ll create another special home for you, your family and how about your chickens? Did they make the move with you.
    Hope you still trek up to the San Juans now and again. Don’t forget you have a place to land on Orcas.
    And the blueberry salsa is new to me. I’m going to have a gander at that one. yum. cheers ma dear! xx wt

    • Wendy! I so wish we could have met for lunch or coffee before the move but my days and nights were filled with packing, spackling, painting, cleaning and such. I’m relieved we’ve landed and now the unpacking begins. Yes, we will be back to the islands, I’m hoping this summer or fall as long as the weather holds. Thank you for your kind hospitality!! Hugs to you my friend 🙂

  5. I’ve moved eleven times with my husband so I know how you feel and how busy you will be for awhile. Think of it as someday you will have twice the amount of good friends. Your salsa recipe is different and delicious sounding.

  6. How exciting! I wish you all the best on your move! Change is definitely a good thing.

  7. Oh Karista – beautifully put, as always. What an exciting new chapter this will be for all of you – I’ve never been but that part of Oregon strikes me as being absolutely beautiful. Sounds like your family is ready…but, what about the chickens? Are they packed and ready to go? 😉

  8. First off, best of luck and enjoy the ride and adventure! It looks to be a beautiful part of the country 🙂

    Secondly, the salsa is so gorgeous and just saturated with natural colors and strong flavors – what a terrific idea!

    Hope to “see” you soon!

  9. This post is so bittersweet! Very excited for your next adventure, but so sad you’re leaving. Sigh…..

  10. Karista, I hope all of your packing and preparation is going well. I look forward to hearing about your new home and all you’re cooking, and I’ll definitely by stopping by on my way to Eugene! Love this blueberry salsa…I just got a beautiful flat of berries and will be making this one. xoxo

  11. All the best in the big move and here’s to wonderful new adventures for the entire Bennett crew! The dish looks wonderful Karista — as always! 🙂

  12. I’m so glad your daughter is home and doing well, so sorry to hear about your pup and I do hope that your move goes smoothly and is an easy transition. Moving is tough, I know. This does seem to be an eventful year…for us, too. Love the looks of your salsa. A great way to enjoy blueberries. Best wishes and will look forward to your next post and updates. xo Betsy

    • Thank you Betsy! When I have a minute I’ll be over to catch up on my Bits and Breadcrumbs blog reading. I hope your summer is happy, healthy and full of adventure! Hugs!

  13. Kim Lester says:

    Aires will miss the wonderful Bennett family! Good luck on your newest adventure!

  14. Karista, I’m going to miss you! I look forward to keeping in touch and I know our paths will continue to cross. 🙂

    • Emmy I will miss you too!! We will definitely keep in touch and I know I’ll be back to Seattle often. If you ever come to Corvallis let me know!

  15. Looks delicious – thanks for the idea! And good luck in the Willamette Valley, I grew up there and it was a truly wonderful place to live.

    • Thank you for stopping by! I never thought I’d leave Seattle, but if I have to move I’m so happy it’s the Willamette Valley. It’s so beautiful and I love that it’s filled with all those wonderful small farms. 🙂 What a great place to grow up!

  16. Wonderful tribute to friendship…wishing you an easy, uneventful move, Sweetie!
    Love the salsa – there *might* be enough blueberries left on the bushes to make some 😀

    • Thank you! I feel so blessed to have such a supportive circle of friends. And would a certain little darling girl be the snatcher of all the blueberries? That’s how I like them best too. Right off the blueberry bush. Have a lovely week!

  17. I love the idea of using blueberries in something other than dessert.

    Good luck on your move, Karista!

  18. Good luck organizing all the moving details!!! I for one, am looking forward to hearing about all of your adventures and seeing pictures as you settle in ❤ xoxoxox

  19. The blueberry salsa looks so delicious – what a great combination of flavors! Good luck with your move —-

I'd love to hear from you!

